Oman and Papua New Guinea open the Twenty 20 World Cup on Sunday in the unlikely vicinity of Al Amerat where the global showpiece begins after being kicked out of India by Covid-19.

The seventh World Cup begins with a double at the 3,000-seat venue outside Muscat.

Later on Sunday, Bangladesh face Scotland while Ireland, Namibia, the Netherlands and 2014 champions Sri Lanka join the fray on Monday.

Check back Monday morning for full updates from the first night of the T20 World Cup!

The ICC T20 Cricket World Cup starts on October 17th and you can catch the first round with Kayo Freebies. Launch the game at


MATCH CENTER: Oman vs Papua New Guinea live score, updates

MATCH CENTER: Bangladesh vs Scotland live score, updates

The eight teams in the first round of qualifying are aiming for four places in the Super 12 round robin.

England, Australia, South Africa, defending champions West Indies, India, Pakistan, New Zealand and Afghanistan will meet with all matches in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah.

The top four then advance to the semi-finals before the final in Dubai on November 14.

There’s a lot at stake. A spot in the next round guarantees a spot for the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia.

There is also a financial incentive. The teams that come out at the first hurdle win a modest sum of $ 40,000. The future champions pocket a check for $ 1.6 million.


NEXT SUPERSTARS: Kiwi Hulk doing 800 push-ups per day; the six afghan machine

FIXTURES: What time are Australia’s games at the 2021 T20 World Cup?

HUSSEY: “Darn good” Australia has lived a T20 lie. Now the world of cricket is ready to discover

New Smart Ball to change cricket! | 02:53

Oman is playing its second T20 World Cup after shocking Ireland in 2016, the last time the tournament was held before the 2020 edition scheduled for Australia fell victim to the pandemic.

The Oman team is made up almost exclusively of semi-professional South Asian expatriates who combine cricket and full-time work. Many train at 5:30 a.m.

“There was a time when bowling and fast bowling were the only strength of the Oman team. Now I think we are doing well as a unit, ”Oman Vice-Captain Aqib Ilyas said.

“This team is much better than 2016 and we raised the bar.

Papua New Guinea make their T20 World Cup debut.

They have already acclimated to Gulf conditions after spending a month in Oman.

Bangladesh have achieved only one tournament victory since 2007, but with a world ranking of six, they will be in a great hurry to qualify for the second round.

Renegades survive fear of the end Hobart WBBL | 01:05

They enter the tournament with home wins against Australia, New Zealand and Zimbabwe under their belt.

“We need to be humble and not take anything for granted. We will have to be at our best from the first ball against Scotland, ”said Bangladeshi skipper Mahmudullah, who was sidelined in preparation due to a back injury.

The Scots fell at the first hurdle in their three previous T20 World Cup appearances, in 2007, 2009 and 2016.

They scored their first and only tournament victory five years ago – an eight-wicket triumph in a rain-affected match against modest Hong Kong.

“We are really going into the tournament head-first and it’s a real challenge for us,” said Scottish skipper Kyle Coetzer.

“But we have beaten them (Bangladesh in 2012) in the past in T20 cricket with a hundred Richie Berrington.”

The ICC T20 Cricket World Cup starts on October 17th and you can catch the first round with Kayo Freebies. Launch the game at

Top nations will join the event – played in stadiums 70% filled – on October 23, with Australia and South Africa meeting in the Super 12 stage opener and England against the West Indies.

England beat New Zealand to win the 50th World Title at Lord’s in 2019. Eoin Morgan’s side will, however, be without Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer, who played a key role in this triumph of a day in the World Cup.

England had to defend 19 points in the final final of the 2016 T20 Final in Kolkata, but Carlos Brathwaite of the West Indies hit Stokes for four consecutive sixes, giving the Caribbean their second T20 world title.

Much of that winning team will return, led by Kieron Pollard and old warhorses Dwayne Bravo, 38, and Chris Gayle, 42.

Steketee catches seven in Shield! | 00:46

The Asian giants of India, who were the original hosts of the 2021 event before the pandemic meant a move to the Gulf, will begin their campaign against rivals and former champions Pakistan on October 24 with Virat Kohli looking to come out with a bang before leaving the captain’s post on the T20 side.

Pakistan have won their last 10 Twenty20 internationals in the United Arab Emirates and captain Babar Azam said on Saturday the race will give his men the edge over India next weekend.

“Certainly we’ve played cricket a lot in the United Arab Emirates,” Babar said on Saturday, when asked about his side’s dismal 0-5 record against India in the T20 World Cup clashes.

“These conditions suit us and we know how to play here.

Source link